Terrorism Update
Show/Hide Search
    Click to Enlarge

Kangleipak Communist Party

Incidents and Statements involving Kangleipak Communist Party: 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2002-2012


The Kangleipak Communist Party (KCP) was formed on April 13, 1980, under the leadership of Y. Ibohanbi. Although the group is ostensibly Communist, named after the historical name of Manipur, i.e. Kangleipak, the KCP is more concerned with the preservation of Meitei culture and demands secession of Manipur from India.

Founder of the KCP, Y. Ibohanbi, was killed during a security force operation in 1995. Subsequently, the KCP split into several factions such as the ones headed by City Meitei (KCP- City Meitei), Prithvi (KCP-P), Mangang (KCP-M) and Noyon (KCP-N). On May 30, 2005, four front-ranking KCP cadres, including Moirangthem Boicha alias Prithvi, chief of the KCP-P, and his wife Ibemcha Devi were killed during an encounter with the security forces (SFs) at Nongada Makha Leikai in the Imphal East district.

Following a decision taken during a five-day central committee meeting held during May 4-8, 2006, the KCP factions are reported to have merged together.


The main objective of KCP is to restore the independence of the erstwhile Manipur kingdom and to bring about an egalitarian society, which is to be achieved by uniting all ethnic-Mongoloid groups belonging to South-East of Himalayan region, liberating Manipur from the Indian rule, building up the strength of the working class and reviving the indigenous culture.

The KCP has, in the past, passed decrees with an objective of widening its level of social acceptability. In February 2005, it banned Government doctors in Manipur from working in private clinics. In April 2005, the KCP pressed for the introduction of the Manipuri script, Meetei Mayek, in educational institutions in the State. In September 2005, the outfit banned shooting and exhibition of digital movies and music albums for a year.


The KCP held its ‘second national convention’ on October 20-23, 2006, at an undisclosed location in Manipur and reconstituted the Party Central Committee. The party hierarchy consists of:

  1. President – Senggoi Meetei
  2. Vice President - K. K. Mangang
  3. General Secretary - K. K. Nganba
  4. Information and Publicity - H. Poirei
  5. Organisation Secretary - Sh. Pakhangba

The KCP started with a small number of cadres. However, its strength has grown over the years and presently, it is known to have about 100 cadres. Half of its active cadres are known to possess an array of weapons ranging from AK series rifles, US carbine, Chinese made grenades and mortars.

Areas of Operation

The KCP is mostly active in the valley areas of Manipur, though it has also been found to be engaged in extortion and other activities in the hill districts, such as Churchandpur.


Like most other insurgent groups in the northeast, the KCP funds its activities through extortion of local villagers and businessmen.


The KCP has a close working relationship with most of the outfits operating in the valley districts of Manipur. Even though, the UNLF had imposed a ban on the City Meitei faction of the KCP in the beginning of 2006, the ban was reportedly revoked to pave way for the unification of various factions. In October 2005, the KYKL too had banned the KCP-P.

In the past, the KCP maintained operational linkages with the National Socialist Council of Nagaland-Khaplang (NSCN-K) and the United Liberation Front of Asom (ULFA).

Incidents and Statements involving Kangleipak Communist Party: 2014, 2013, 2002-2012

Source:Compiled from news reports and are provisional.





Copyright © 2001 SATP. All rights reserved.